Sizewell nuclear power plant C2
Sizewell nuclear power plant C2 is a pressurised water reactor unit at Sizewell nuclear power plant in United Kingdom rated at 1,600 MW gross. It is pre-construction.
GNPT types the unit as a pressurized heavy water reactor, but its model is the UK EPR, which is a pressurised water reactor. Sizewell C Ltd states that the UK EPR design used at Sizewell C is the same as at Hinkley Point C and that EPRs are a type of PWR. The fuel family follows the type: an EPR takes square-lattice PWR fuel, not CANDU-style bundles.
reactor_type:
phwr → pwr
· Sizewell C Ltd, Building Sizewell C (FAQ on the UK EPR design)
· verified 2026-10-22
GNPT types the unit as a pressurized heavy water reactor, but its model is the UK EPR, which is a pressurised water reactor. Sizewell C Ltd states that the UK EPR design used at Sizewell C is the same as at Hinkley Point C and that EPRs are a type of PWR. The fuel family follows the type: an EPR takes square-lattice PWR fuel, not CANDU-style bundles.
fuel_family:
phwr → pwr
· Sizewell C Ltd, Building Sizewell C (FAQ on the UK EPR design)
· verified 2026-10-22
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | EPR |
| Size | Largeabove 300 MWe |
| Coolant | Light water |
| Moderator | Light water |
| Gross capacity | 1,600MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| NSSS vendor | Framatomeall vendors |
| Typical enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
| Site | Sizewell nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | C2 |
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Owner | Government of United Kingdom83% EDF Energy Ltd16% |
| Coordinates | 52.2199, 1.6203 |
- China National Nuclear Corporation PWR fuel assemblies
- ENUSA Industrias Avanzadas PWR and BWR fuel assemblies
- Framatome PWR fuel assemblies
- KEPCO Nuclear Fuel PWR fuel assemblies
- Mitsubishi Heavy Industries PWR fuel assemblies
- Westinghouse Electric Company PWR fuel assemblies
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Other units at Sizewell nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Sizewell nuclear power plant A1 | Retired | 245 |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant A2 | Retired | 245 |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant B | 1,250 | |
| Sizewell nuclear power plant C1 | Pre-construction | 1,600 |
Other EPR units
20 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flamanville nuclear power plant 3 | France | 1,650 | |
| Olkiluoto nuclear power plant 3 | Finland | 1,720 | |
| Amarillo nuclear power plant 1 | United States | Cancelled | 1,710 |
| Amarillo nuclear power plant 2 | United States | Cancelled | 1,710 |
| Bell Bend nuclear power plant | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Callaway nuclear power plant 2A | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Calvert Cliffs nuclear power plant 3 | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Idaho Energy Complex nuclear power plant | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 1 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 2 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 3 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 4 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-30
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data