Jaitapur nuclear power plant 1
Announced India
Gross capacity
1,730MW
Jaitapur nuclear power plant 1 is a pressurised water reactor unit at Jaitapur nuclear power plant in India rated at 1,730 MW gross. It is announced.
Specification
| Reactor type | Pressurised water reactor (PWR) |
|---|---|
| Model | EPR |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Light water |
| Moderator | Light water |
| Gross capacity | 1,730MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | 3–5% U-235 |
Ownership & location
| Site | Jaitapur nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | 1 |
| Country | India |
| Owner | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd100% |
| Operator | Nuclear Power Corporation Of India |
| Coordinates | 16.5997, 73.3300 |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Uranium dioxide pellets in zirconium-alloy cladding
Enrichment
3–5% U-235
Who makes this assembly
- China National Nuclear Corporation PWR fuel assemblies
- ENUSA Industrias Avanzadas PWR and BWR fuel assemblies
- Framatome PWR fuel assemblies
- KEPCO Nuclear Fuel PWR fuel assemblies
- Mitsubishi Heavy Industries PWR fuel assemblies
- Westinghouse Electric Company PWR fuel assemblies
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Other units at Jaitapur nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 2 | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 3 | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 4 | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 5 | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 6 | Announced | 1,730 |
Other EPR units
18 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flamanville nuclear power plant 3 | France | 1,650 | |
| Olkiluoto nuclear power plant 3 | Finland | 1,720 | |
| Bell Bend nuclear power plant | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Callaway nuclear power plant 2A | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Calvert Cliffs nuclear power plant 3 | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Idaho Energy Complex nuclear power plant | United States | Cancelled | 1,600 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 2 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 3 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 4 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 5 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Jaitapur nuclear power plant 6 | India | Announced | 1,730 |
| Moorside Clean Energy Hub nuclear power plant 1 | United Kingdom | Shelved | 1,600 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-18
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted