Skip to content

Sizewell nuclear power plant C1

Pre-construction United Kingdom
Gross capacity
1,600MW

Sizewell nuclear power plant C1 is a pressurised water reactor unit at Sizewell nuclear power plant in United Kingdom rated at 1,600 MW gross. It is pre-construction.

Corrected against a later source

GNPT types the unit as a pressurized heavy water reactor, but its model is the UK EPR, which is a pressurised water reactor. Sizewell C Ltd states that the UK EPR design used at Sizewell C is the same as at Hinkley Point C and that EPRs are a type of PWR. The fuel family follows the type: an EPR takes square-lattice PWR fuel, not CANDU-style bundles.

reactor_type: phwr → pwr · Sizewell C Ltd, Building Sizewell C (FAQ on the UK EPR design) · verified 2026-10-22

GNPT types the unit as a pressurized heavy water reactor, but its model is the UK EPR, which is a pressurised water reactor. Sizewell C Ltd states that the UK EPR design used at Sizewell C is the same as at Hinkley Point C and that EPRs are a type of PWR. The fuel family follows the type: an EPR takes square-lattice PWR fuel, not CANDU-style bundles.

fuel_family: phwr → pwr · Sizewell C Ltd, Building Sizewell C (FAQ on the UK EPR design) · verified 2026-10-22

Specification
Reactor type Pressurised water reactor (PWR)
ModelEPR
SizeLargeabove 300 MWe
CoolantLight water
ModeratorLight water
Gross capacity1,600MW
Net capacity (reference)not disclosed
Net capacity (design)not disclosed
Thermal outputnot disclosed
NSSS vendorFramatomeall vendors
Typical enrichment3–5% U-235
Ownership & location
SiteSizewell nuclear power plant
UnitC1
CountryUnited Kingdom
OwnerGovernment of United Kingdom83%
EDF Energy Ltd16%
Coordinates 52.2199, 1.6203
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
Uranium dioxide pellets in zirconium-alloy cladding
Enrichment
3–5% U-235
Who makes this assembly
Upstream

Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.

Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units, utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.

Other units at Sizewell nuclear power plant

UnitStatusGross MW
Sizewell nuclear power plant A1 Retired 245
Sizewell nuclear power plant A2 Retired 245
Sizewell nuclear power plant B Operating 1,250
Sizewell nuclear power plant C2 Pre-construction 1,600

Other EPR units

20 units worldwide share this model designation.

UnitCountryStatusGross MW
Flamanville nuclear power plant 3 France Operating 1,650
Olkiluoto nuclear power plant 3 Finland Operating 1,720
Amarillo nuclear power plant 1 United States Cancelled 1,710
Amarillo nuclear power plant 2 United States Cancelled 1,710
Bell Bend nuclear power plant United States Cancelled 1,600
Callaway nuclear power plant 2A United States Cancelled 1,600
Calvert Cliffs nuclear power plant 3 United States Cancelled 1,600
Idaho Energy Complex nuclear power plant United States Cancelled 1,600
Jaitapur nuclear power plant 1 India Announced 1,730
Jaitapur nuclear power plant 2 India Announced 1,730
Jaitapur nuclear power plant 3 India Announced 1,730
Jaitapur nuclear power plant 4 India Announced 1,730

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.