Rössing is a mining facility operated by China National Nuclear Corporation in Namibia. It produced 2,205 tU/yr in 2024.
One of the oldest and largest open-pit uranium mines in the world, operating since 1976. Rio Tinto sold its majority stake to CNNC in 2019, putting a second major Namibian mine under Chinese control alongside Husab.
| Stage | Mining and milling |
|---|---|
| Operator | China National Nuclear Corporation |
| Country | Namibia |
| Reported output | 2,205tU/yr |
| Figure applies to | 2024 |
| Status | operating |
| Commissioned | 1976 |
| Coordinates | -22.4833, 15.0333 |
No disclosed capacity, so its share of world mining capacity cannot be stated.
China National Nuclear Corporation also operates:
- Lanzhou conversion plant (conversion)
- Hengyang conversion plant (conversion)
- Diwopu (Jiuquan) (conversion)
- Lanzhou enrichment plant (enrichment)
- Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant (enrichment)
- Emeishan enrichment plant (enrichment)
- Heping (Plant 814) (enrichment)
- Yibin (CJNF) (fabrication)
- Yining (mining)
- Fuzhou (mining)
- Shaoguan (mining)
- Tongliao (mining)
- Beishan underground research laboratory (repository)
Other mining facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| McArthur River / Key Lake | 7,808tU/yr | operating |
| Cigar Lake | 6,501tU/yr | operating |
| Husab | 4,437tU/yr | operating |
| Karatau (Budenovskoye 2) | 3,299tU/yr | operating |
| Inkai, sites 1-3 | 2,992tU/yr | operating |
| Akdala and South Inkai | 2,803tU/yr | operating |
| Olympic Dam | 2,693tU/yr | operating |
| Moinkum and Tortkuduk (KATCO) | 2,388tU/yr | operating |
| Smith Ranch-Highland | 2,116tU/yr | operating |
| Khorassan 1 | 2,030tU/yr | operating |
| White Mesa Mill | 2,000short tons ore/day | operating |
| Central Mynkuduk | 1,650tU/yr | operating |
| Budenovskoye 1, 3 & 4 (Akbastau) | 1,545tU/yr | operating |
| Four Mile | 1,503tU/yr | operating |
| Kharasan 2 (Baiken-U) | 1,315tU/yr | operating |
| South Moinkum and Kanzhugan | 1,273tU/yr | operating |
| Ross Central Processing Plant | 1,154tU/yr | operating |
| Khiagda | 1,103tU/yr | operating |
| Priargunsky | 1,047tU/yr | operating |
| Somaïr (Arlit) | 960tU/yr | operating |
| Honeymoon | 942tU/yr | operating |
| Irkol | 940tU/yr | operating |
| Yining | 850tU/yr | operating |
| Western Mynkuduk (Appak) | 830tU/yr | operating |
| North and South Karamurun | 830tU/yr | operating |
| Lost Creek | 769tU/yr | operating |
| Zarechnoye | 741tU/yr | operating |
| Langer Heinrich | 691tU/yr | operating |
| Dalur | 588tU/yr | operating |
| Alta Mesa | 577tU/yr | operating |
| Willow Creek | 500tU/yr | operating |
| Fuzhou | 350tU/yr | operating |
| Caetité (Lagoa Real) | 340tU/yr | operating |
| Tummalapalle | 220tU/yr | operating |
| Shaoguan | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Tongliao | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Jaduguda mine and mill | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Turamdih mine and mill | 190tU/yr | operating |
| Northern Mining Directorate (Uchkuduk) | not disclosed | operating |
| Central Mining Directorate (Zarafshan) | not disclosed | operating |
| Mining Directorate No. 5 (Zafarabad) | not disclosed | operating |
| Southern Mining Directorate (Nurabad) | not disclosed | operating |
| Ingulska | not disclosed | operating |
| Smolinska | not disclosed | operating |
| Novokostiantynivska | not disclosed | operating |
| Moab Khotsong | not disclosed | operating |
At the market indicator. 2,205 tU produced in 2024, valued at US$ 89.68 per lb U₃O₈ spot, comes to roughly US$ 514 million a year, or US$ 553 million at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.
Sources
- World Nuclear Association, World Uranium Mining Production · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data