Skip to content

Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant

enrichment China operating
Capacity
2,700tSWU/yr

Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant is a enrichment facility operated by China National Nuclear Corporation in China. It has a capacity of 2,700 tSWU/yr as of 2026, about 4% of world enrichment capacity.

The other plant built under the Russian agreements, in Shaanxi, and since expanded with Chinese centrifuges. IPFM records its safeguards status in parentheses, its notation for a fact it cannot fully confirm; the notation is reproduced here rather than interpreted.

Facility
StageEnrichment
OperatorChina National Nuclear Corporation
CountryChina
Capacity 2,700tSWU/yr
Figure applies to2026
Statusoperating
Commissionednot stated
Coordinates33.0667, 107.0333
Position in the chain

This facility is about 4% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).

China National Nuclear Corporation also operates:

Other enrichment facilities

FacilityCapacityStatus
Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) 13,300tSWU/yr operating
Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) 7,900tSWU/yr operating
Georges Besse II, Tricastin 7,500tSWU/yr operating
Project IKE, Oak Ridge 7,500tSWU/yr licensing
Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility 6,000tSWU/yr planned
Urenco Almelo 5,100tSWU/yr operating
Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility 4,650tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Capenhurst 4,500tSWU/yr operating
Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) 4,000tSWU/yr operating
Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) 3,800tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Gronau 3,600tSWU/yr operating
Heping (Plant 814) 230tSWU/yr operating
Rokkasho Enrichment Plant 150tSWU/yr operating
Resende enrichment plant 50tSWU/yr operating
Lanzhou enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Emeishan enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Pilcaniyeu not disclosed not operating
Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) not disclosed operating
Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) not disclosed operating
Gadwal not disclosed operating
Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Yongbyon enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Kangson not disclosed operating

At the market indicator. 2,700 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 540 million a year, or US$ 494 million at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.