North and South Karamurun
North and South Karamurun is a mining facility operated by NAC Kazatomprom in Kazakhstan. It produced 830 tU/yr in 2022.
Wholly Kazatomprom-owned in-situ leach operations worked through GRK.
| Stage | Mining and milling |
|---|---|
| Operator | NAC Kazatomprom |
| Country | Kazakhstan |
| Reported output | 830tU/yr |
| Figure applies to | 2022 |
| Status | operating |
| Commissioned | not stated |
| Coordinates | 44.4000, 65.9000 |
No disclosed capacity, so its share of world mining capacity cannot be stated.
NAC Kazatomprom also operates:
- Ust-Kamenogorsk (ULBA) (fabrication)
- Karatau (Budenovskoye 2) (mining)
- Inkai, sites 1-3 (mining)
- Akdala and South Inkai (mining)
- Khorassan 1 (mining)
- Central Mynkuduk (mining)
- Budenovskoye 1, 3 & 4 (Akbastau) (mining)
- Kharasan 2 (Baiken-U) (mining)
- South Moinkum and Kanzhugan (mining)
- Irkol (mining)
- Western Mynkuduk (Appak) (mining)
- Zarechnoye (mining)
Other mining facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| McArthur River / Key Lake | 7,808tU/yr | operating |
| Cigar Lake | 6,501tU/yr | operating |
| Husab | 4,437tU/yr | operating |
| Karatau (Budenovskoye 2) | 3,299tU/yr | operating |
| Inkai, sites 1-3 | 2,992tU/yr | operating |
| Akdala and South Inkai | 2,803tU/yr | operating |
| Olympic Dam | 2,693tU/yr | operating |
| Moinkum and Tortkuduk (KATCO) | 2,388tU/yr | operating |
| Rössing | 2,205tU/yr | operating |
| Smith Ranch-Highland | 2,116tU/yr | operating |
| Khorassan 1 | 2,030tU/yr | operating |
| White Mesa Mill | 2,000short tons ore/day | operating |
| Central Mynkuduk | 1,650tU/yr | operating |
| Budenovskoye 1, 3 & 4 (Akbastau) | 1,545tU/yr | operating |
| Four Mile | 1,503tU/yr | operating |
| Kharasan 2 (Baiken-U) | 1,315tU/yr | operating |
| South Moinkum and Kanzhugan | 1,273tU/yr | operating |
| Ross Central Processing Plant | 1,154tU/yr | operating |
| Khiagda | 1,103tU/yr | operating |
| Priargunsky | 1,047tU/yr | operating |
| Somaïr (Arlit) | 960tU/yr | operating |
| Honeymoon | 942tU/yr | operating |
| Irkol | 940tU/yr | operating |
| Yining | 850tU/yr | operating |
| Western Mynkuduk (Appak) | 830tU/yr | operating |
| Lost Creek | 769tU/yr | operating |
| Zarechnoye | 741tU/yr | operating |
| Langer Heinrich | 691tU/yr | operating |
| Dalur | 588tU/yr | operating |
| Alta Mesa | 577tU/yr | operating |
| Willow Creek | 500tU/yr | operating |
| Fuzhou | 350tU/yr | operating |
| Caetité (Lagoa Real) | 340tU/yr | operating |
| Tummalapalle | 220tU/yr | operating |
| Shaoguan | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Tongliao | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Jaduguda mine and mill | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Turamdih mine and mill | 190tU/yr | operating |
| Northern Mining Directorate (Uchkuduk) | not disclosed | operating |
| Central Mining Directorate (Zarafshan) | not disclosed | operating |
| Mining Directorate No. 5 (Zafarabad) | not disclosed | operating |
| Southern Mining Directorate (Nurabad) | not disclosed | operating |
| Ingulska | not disclosed | operating |
| Smolinska | not disclosed | operating |
| Novokostiantynivska | not disclosed | operating |
| Moab Khotsong | not disclosed | operating |
At the market indicator. 830 tU produced in 2022, valued at US$ 89.68 per lb U₃O₈ spot, comes to roughly US$ 194 million a year, or US$ 208 million at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.
Sources
- World Nuclear Association, Uranium in Kazakhstan · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data