Smith Ranch-Highland
Smith Ranch-Highland is a mining facility operated by Cameco Corporation in United States. It has a capacity of 2,116 tU/yr as of 2025, about 4% of world mining capacity.
The largest licensed in-situ recovery operation in the United States, in Converse County, Wyoming. Licensed capacity is not output: American production collapsed to almost nothing after 2018 and the whole country produced 260 tU in 2024, against a licensed ISR capacity across all plants of more than 13 million lb U3O8. The EIA publishes capacity and status per plant but withholds production per plant, so no output figure is recorded here.
| Stage | Mining and milling |
|---|---|
| Operator | Cameco Corporation |
| Country | United States |
| Capacity | 2,116tU/yr |
| Figure applies to | 2025 |
| Note on the figure | 5.5 million lb U3O8 a year licensed, well above what it actually runs at |
| Status | operating |
| Commissioned | not stated |
| Coordinates | 43.1000, -105.5000 |
This facility is about 4% of world mining capacity (60,213 tU/yr, 2024).
Cameco Corporation also operates:
- Port Hope Conversion Facility (conversion)
- Cameco Fuel Manufacturing, Port Hope (fabrication)
- McArthur River / Key Lake (mining)
- Cigar Lake (mining)
Other mining facilities
| Facility | Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|
| McArthur River / Key Lake | 7,808tU/yr | operating |
| Cigar Lake | 6,501tU/yr | operating |
| Husab | 4,437tU/yr | operating |
| Karatau (Budenovskoye 2) | 3,299tU/yr | operating |
| Inkai, sites 1-3 | 2,992tU/yr | operating |
| Akdala and South Inkai | 2,803tU/yr | operating |
| Olympic Dam | 2,693tU/yr | operating |
| Moinkum and Tortkuduk (KATCO) | 2,388tU/yr | operating |
| Rössing | 2,205tU/yr | operating |
| Khorassan 1 | 2,030tU/yr | operating |
| White Mesa Mill | 2,000short tons ore/day | operating |
| Central Mynkuduk | 1,650tU/yr | operating |
| Budenovskoye 1, 3 & 4 (Akbastau) | 1,545tU/yr | operating |
| Four Mile | 1,503tU/yr | operating |
| Kharasan 2 (Baiken-U) | 1,315tU/yr | operating |
| South Moinkum and Kanzhugan | 1,273tU/yr | operating |
| Ross Central Processing Plant | 1,154tU/yr | operating |
| Khiagda | 1,103tU/yr | operating |
| Priargunsky | 1,047tU/yr | operating |
| Somaïr (Arlit) | 960tU/yr | operating |
| Honeymoon | 942tU/yr | operating |
| Irkol | 940tU/yr | operating |
| Yining | 850tU/yr | operating |
| Western Mynkuduk (Appak) | 830tU/yr | operating |
| North and South Karamurun | 830tU/yr | operating |
| Lost Creek | 769tU/yr | operating |
| Zarechnoye | 741tU/yr | operating |
| Langer Heinrich | 691tU/yr | operating |
| Dalur | 588tU/yr | operating |
| Alta Mesa | 577tU/yr | operating |
| Willow Creek | 500tU/yr | operating |
| Fuzhou | 350tU/yr | operating |
| Caetité (Lagoa Real) | 340tU/yr | operating |
| Tummalapalle | 220tU/yr | operating |
| Shaoguan | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Tongliao | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Jaduguda mine and mill | 200tU/yr | operating |
| Turamdih mine and mill | 190tU/yr | operating |
| Northern Mining Directorate (Uchkuduk) | not disclosed | operating |
| Central Mining Directorate (Zarafshan) | not disclosed | operating |
| Mining Directorate No. 5 (Zafarabad) | not disclosed | operating |
| Southern Mining Directorate (Nurabad) | not disclosed | operating |
| Ingulska | not disclosed | operating |
| Smolinska | not disclosed | operating |
| Novokostiantynivska | not disclosed | operating |
| Moab Khotsong | not disclosed | operating |
Sources
- US Energy Information Administration, Domestic Uranium Production Report · retrieved 2026-09-06
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data