Skip to content

Resende enrichment plant

enrichment Brazil operating
Capacity
50tSWU/yr

Resende enrichment plant is a enrichment facility operated by Indústrias Nucleares do Brasil in Brazil. It has a capacity of 50 tSWU/yr as of 2026, about 0% of world enrichment capacity.

Brazil is the only non-weapon state outside the Urenco partnership and Japan running its own centrifuge enrichment, on machines developed by its navy. Capacity is a rounding error against world supply and is intended to reach 200 tSWU/yr by 2037, enough to cover part of Angra's own requirement. Safeguards here are applied by the ABACC binational agency with Argentina as well as by the IAEA.

Facility
StageEnrichment
OperatorIndústrias Nucleares do Brasil
CountryBrazil
Capacity 50tSWU/yr
Figure applies to2026
Statusoperating
Commissionednot stated
Coordinates-22.4667, -44.4500
Position in the chain

This facility is about 0% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).

Indústrias Nucleares do Brasil also operates:

Other enrichment facilities

FacilityCapacityStatus
Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) 13,300tSWU/yr operating
Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) 7,900tSWU/yr operating
Georges Besse II, Tricastin 7,500tSWU/yr operating
Project IKE, Oak Ridge 7,500tSWU/yr licensing
Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility 6,000tSWU/yr planned
Urenco Almelo 5,100tSWU/yr operating
Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility 4,650tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Capenhurst 4,500tSWU/yr operating
Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) 4,000tSWU/yr operating
Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) 3,800tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Gronau 3,600tSWU/yr operating
Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant 2,700tSWU/yr operating
Heping (Plant 814) 230tSWU/yr operating
Rokkasho Enrichment Plant 150tSWU/yr operating
Lanzhou enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Emeishan enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Pilcaniyeu not disclosed not operating
Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) not disclosed operating
Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) not disclosed operating
Gadwal not disclosed operating
Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Yongbyon enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Kangson not disclosed operating

At the market indicator. 50 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 10 million a year, or US$ 9 million at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.