Skip to content

Project IKE, Oak Ridge

Capacity
7,500tSWU/yr

Project IKE, Oak Ridge is a enrichment facility operated by Orano in United States. It has a capacity of 7,500 tSWU/yr as of 2032, about 11% of world enrichment capacity.

Orano's planned US centrifuge plant, part of the DOE programme to rebuild domestic capacity after the 2024 ban on Russian imports. Its environmental impact statement went to the NRC in February 2026 and the licence application was accepted for an accelerated twelve-month review that May. Construction is put at about five billion dollars. At full size it would match Georges Besse II, which would roughly double Western enrichment outside Urenco, and it is eight years from the award to the first gram.

Facility
StageEnrichment
OperatorOrano
CountryUnited States
Capacity 7,500tSWU/yr
Figure applies to2032
Note on the figureMaximum design capacity, from an operations start stated as January 2032. Nothing is enriched there yet, so this is a design figure and not a working plant.
Statuslicensing
Commissionednot stated
Coordinates35.9300, -84.3100
Position in the chain

This facility is about 11% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).

Orano also operates:

Other enrichment facilities

FacilityCapacityStatus
Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) 13,300tSWU/yr operating
Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) 7,900tSWU/yr operating
Georges Besse II, Tricastin 7,500tSWU/yr operating
Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility 6,000tSWU/yr planned
Urenco Almelo 5,100tSWU/yr operating
Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility 4,650tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Capenhurst 4,500tSWU/yr operating
Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) 4,000tSWU/yr operating
Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) 3,800tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Gronau 3,600tSWU/yr operating
Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant 2,700tSWU/yr operating
Heping (Plant 814) 230tSWU/yr operating
Rokkasho Enrichment Plant 150tSWU/yr operating
Resende enrichment plant 50tSWU/yr operating
Lanzhou enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Emeishan enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Pilcaniyeu not disclosed not operating
Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) not disclosed operating
Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) not disclosed operating
Gadwal not disclosed operating
Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Yongbyon enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Kangson not disclosed operating

At the market indicator. 7,500 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 1.50 billion a year, or US$ 1.37 billion at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.