Skip to content

Rokkasho Enrichment Plant

enrichment Japan operating
Capacity
150tSWU/yr

Rokkasho Enrichment Plant is a enrichment facility operated by Japan Nuclear Fuel Limited in Japan. It has a capacity of 150 tSWU/yr as of 2026, about 0% of world enrichment capacity.

Japan's only enrichment plant, on the Rokkasho site alongside the long-delayed reprocessing facility. Capacity is small relative to the Japanese fleet, which imports most of its enrichment services.

Facility
StageEnrichment
OperatorJapan Nuclear Fuel Limited
CountryJapan
Capacity 150tSWU/yr
Figure applies to2026
Note on the figureIPFM, June 2026, with the plant restarting after years shipping almost nothing. JNFL targets up to 450 tSWU/yr by 2029.
Statusoperating
Commissionednot stated
Coordinates40.9500, 141.3800
Position in the chain

This facility is about 0% of world enrichment capacity (68,076 tSWU/yr, 2025).

Japan Nuclear Fuel Limited also operates:

Other enrichment facilities

FacilityCapacityStatus
Novouralsk (Urals Electrochemical Combine) 13,300tSWU/yr operating
Zelenogorsk (Electrochemical Plant) 7,900tSWU/yr operating
Georges Besse II, Tricastin 7,500tSWU/yr operating
Project IKE, Oak Ridge 7,500tSWU/yr licensing
Paducah Laser Enrichment Facility 6,000tSWU/yr planned
Urenco Almelo 5,100tSWU/yr operating
Urenco USA, National Enrichment Facility 4,650tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Capenhurst 4,500tSWU/yr operating
Angarsk (Electrolysis Chemical Combine) 4,000tSWU/yr operating
Seversk (Siberian Chemical Combine) 3,800tSWU/yr operating
Urenco Gronau 3,600tSWU/yr operating
Hanzhong (Shaanxi) enrichment plant 2,700tSWU/yr operating
Heping (Plant 814) 230tSWU/yr operating
Resende enrichment plant 50tSWU/yr operating
Lanzhou enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Emeishan enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Pilcaniyeu not disclosed not operating
Ratehalli (Rare Materials Plant) not disclosed operating
Kahuta (Khan Research Laboratories) not disclosed operating
Gadwal not disclosed operating
Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Fordow Fuel Enrichment Plant not disclosed uncertain
Yongbyon enrichment plant not disclosed operating
Kangson not disclosed operating

At the market indicator. 150 tSWU/yr of nameplate capacity, valued at US$ 200.00 per SWU spot, comes to roughly US$ 30 million a year, or US$ 27 million at the long-term indicator. Treat both as scale, not revenue: most volume moves under contracts signed years earlier at prices neither figure reflects, and nothing here is netted against the cost of producing it. The indicators, and forty years of history behind them, are on fuel market prices.

Sources

How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data

Try

Searches every page: 1,823 reactors, 592 plants, 158 fuel chain facilities, companies, designs, accidents and notes.