Xiapu nuclear power plant HTR
Announced China
Gross capacity
600MW
Xiapu nuclear power plant HTR is a high-temperature gas reactor unit at Xiapu nuclear power plant in China rated at 600 MW gross. It is announced.
Specification
| Reactor type | High-temperature gas reactor (HTGR) |
|---|---|
| Model | not disclosed |
| Size class | Large |
| Coolant | Helium |
| Moderator | Graphite |
| Gross capacity | 600MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | not disclosed |
| Typical enrichment | 8–20% U-235, frequently HALEU |
Ownership & location
| Site | Xiapu nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | HTR |
| Country | China |
| Owner | Huaneng Nuclear Power Development Co Ltd100% |
| Operator | Huaneng Xiapu Nuclear Power |
| Coordinates | 26.8019, 120.1520 |
Fuel chain for this unit
Fuel form
TRISO-coated particle fuel in pebbles or compacts
Enrichment
8–20% U-235, frequently HALEU HALEU dependency
Who makes this assembly
- BWX Technologies TRISO particle fuel
- X-energy TRISO particle fuel, HALEU enrichment
Upstream
Enriched fuel means this unit sits downstream of five conversion plants and four enrichment operators holding 88% of world capacity between the top three.
This design needs HALEU — enrichment above 5%. Western production is currently measured in hundreds of kilograms a year.
Fabricator capability is recorded against reactor type and model line, not against named units —
utilities do not publish fuel contracts. See the fuel chain.
Other units at Xiapu nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Xiapu nuclear power plant 1-1 | Pre-construction | 1,150 |
| Xiapu nuclear power plant 1-2 | Pre-construction | 1,150 |
| Xiapu nuclear power plant 3 | Announced | 1,150 |
| Xiapu nuclear power plant 4 | Announced | 1,150 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release — CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2026-06-12
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) — CC BY-SA 4.0 — linked, not quoted