Nyongbyon nuclear power plant 1
Nyongbyon nuclear power plant 1 is a gas-cooled reactor unit at Nyongbyon nuclear power plant in North Korea rated at 5 MW gross. It is operating. Commercial operation began 1 Jan 1985.
| Reactor type | Gas-cooled reactor (GCR) |
|---|---|
| Model | MAGNOX |
| Size | Very small20 MWe or less |
| Coolant | Carbon dioxide |
| Moderator | Graphite |
| Gross capacity | 5MW |
| Net capacity (reference) | not disclosed |
| Net capacity (design) | not disclosed |
| Thermal output | 25MWt |
| NSSS vendor | not on record |
| Typical enrichment | Natural uranium to 2.5–3.5% U-235 |
| Site | Nyongbyon nuclear power plant |
|---|---|
| Unit | 1 |
| Country | North Korea |
| Coordinates | 39.7974, 125.7549 |
This unit runs on natural uranium, so its fuel chain has no enrichment step at all: mine → mill → conversion → fabrication. That is the shortest fuel chain of any commercial reactor type, and it makes the operator independent of the four organisations that control enrichment worldwide.
Timeline
- 1 Jan 1980Construction start
- 1 Jan 1986First criticality
- 1 Jan 1985Commercial operation
Other units at Nyongbyon nuclear power plant
| Unit | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|
| Nyongbyon nuclear power plant 2 | Cancelled | 50 |
| Nyongbyon nuclear power plant 3 | Mothballed | 30 |
Other MAGNOX units
30 units worldwide share this model designation.
| Unit | Country | Status | Gross MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Berkeley nuclear power plant 1 | United Kingdom | Retired | 166 |
| Berkeley nuclear power plant 2 | United Kingdom | Retired | 166 |
| Bradwell nuclear power plant 1 | United Kingdom | Retired | 146 |
| Bradwell nuclear power plant 2 | United Kingdom | Retired | 146 |
| Calder Hall nuclear power plant 1 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Calder Hall nuclear power plant 2 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Calder Hall nuclear power plant 3 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Calder Hall nuclear power plant 4 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Chapelcross nuclear power plant 1 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Chapelcross nuclear power plant 2 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Chapelcross nuclear power plant 3 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
| Chapelcross nuclear power plant 4 | United Kingdom | Retired | 60 |
Sources
- Global Nuclear Power Tracker, Global Energy Monitor, August 2026 release , CC BY 4.0 · retrieved 2026-09-06 · this unit last researched by GEM on 2024-05-09
- GEM.wiki entry (further reading) , CC BY-SA 4.0, linked, not quoted
How these sources are used, including the corrections applied on top of them and what is deliberately left blank · download the underlying data